What’s next for the media? Find out at Excellence in Journalism Conference

Chapman University will host its third annual Excellence in Journalism Conference on Saturday, Dec. 3 from 9:30 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. The workshops and panels will feature numerous journalists and nonfiction writers, including Pulitzer Prize and Emmy winners.

They will cover a range of topics and close the day with a panel discussion, “Is Objectivity Dead?” You can check out the full schedule at the Excellence in Journalism website.

Author and journalist Gustavo Arellano ’01 will be among the guest speakers at Excellence in Journalism Conference.

It is a great opportunity for people to go to a lineup of speakers who are doing a lot of great work that cuts across fields, said Dennis Foley, instructor for the Department of English. He added that the workshops and panels will both link back to journalism techniques while also looking ahead to what journalists will need to know next.

This event is hosted with the support of Chapman’s journalism and broadcast journalism programs, the OC Press Club and the LA chapter of the Asian American Journalists Association.

The conference is free and open to the public. To learn more about all of the speakers, click here.

Scheduled Presenters Include:

  • Gustavo Arellano, editor, OC Weekly, nonfiction author
  • Alexandra Berzon, Wall Street Journal, Pulitzer Prize winner
  • Cindy Carcamo, Los Angeles Times, French-American Foundation’s 2012 Immigration Journalism Award winner
  • Nancy and John Casper, creators of CasperNews
  • Anh Do, Los Angeles Times, DART Award for Excellence winner
  • Tom Feuer, director, Los Angeles Bureau of Cronkite Sports, three-time Emmy winner
  • Vanessa Franko, entertainment and features editor, The Press-Enterprise
  • Sally French, drone news reporter, marketwatch.com
  • Jeff Gottlieb, Pulitzer Prize for Public Service Reporting winner
  • Kim Guimarin, senior editor, Riverside Press Enterprise, San Bernardino SunFacts of Redland and Inland Valley Daily Bulletin
  • Rayan Hagen, reporter, San Bernardino Sun
  • Todd Harmonson, senior editor, Orange County Register
  • David Hasemyer, reporter, InsideClimate News, Pulitzer Prize for National Reporting winner
  • Robert Hernandez, national board member, Online News Association
  • Sal Hernandez, breaking news reporter, Buzzfeed
  • Xavier Higgs, general assignment writer, photographer, president, Black Journalist Association of Southern California
  • Greg Lee, general assignment reporter, ABC7 Eyewitness News
  • Joe Little, television news reporter, ABC 10News, Emmy Award winner
  • Bret Marcus, TV executive, show runner, and producer, winner of more than two dozen Emmys
  • Mariecar Mendoza, arts content editor, San Francisco Chronicle
  • Rem Rieder, media industry editor, columnist, USA Today
  • Norberto Santana Jr., founder, Voice of OC
  • Jan Schaffer, executive director, J-Lab: The Institute for Interactive Journalism, Pulitzer Prize Gold Medal for Public Service winner
  • Teri Sforza, created OC Watchdog column, Orange County Register, contributed to Pulitzer Prize-winning investigation, nonfiction author

Matt Wheatley

Add comment

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.