Fireworks for the Fowler 20th anniversary celebration boom above attendees heads.

Fowler School of Law has a milestone moment

Fireworks punctuated the celebration of the Fowler School of Law’s 20th anniversary on March 28 in Attallah Piazza. The event attracted 350 guests, including law school namesake Dale E. Fowler ’58 and his wife, Ann.

Among the speakers were President Jim Doti, Dean Tom Campbell, Board of Advisors Chairman Wylie Aitken and Dean Emeritus Parham Williams, who shared cherished memories but also looked ahead.

“As it enters its third decade, the Fowler School of Law is strong, confident and poised for continued growth in prestige and national influence,” Williams said. “This is a time of new beginnings and dreams without boundaries.”


  • 4 Fowler School of Law faculty members who clerked with U.S. Supreme Court justices.
  • 11 Consecutive years the School has ranked among the top 10 for Best Quality of Life in The Princeton Review’s annual book Best 169 Law Schools.
  • 200 Survivors of domestic violence served last year by the Bette and Wylie Aitken Family Violence Clinic, one of six pro-bono community-service clinics at the law school.
  • 1 Nobel laureates on the Fowler School faculty. Professor Vernon L. Smith, winner of the 2002 Nobel Prize for economics, recently was also selected to receive the prestigious Julian L. Simon Memorial Award from the Competitive Enterprise Institute. Smith was chosen for his groundbreaking work in experimental economics.
  • 7 Afghan attorneys who have received Master’s of Law degrees from the Fowler School and then returned to Afghanistan as leaders of justice reform thanks to Chapman’s participation in a State Department public-private partnership.
  • 55,000,000 Dollars in the transformational gift by Dale E. Fowler ’58 and his wife, Ann – the second-largest gift ever to a U.S. law school.

Add comment

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.