Cheverton Award
Cheverton Award recipient Sydni Au Hoy, second from left, with Chapman University President Daniele Struppa, left, Provost Norma Bouchard and Vice President for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Jerry Price.

Sydni Au Hoy ’22 Receives Cheverton Award, Chapman’s Highest Student Honor Hawaii resident & biological sciences major excelled in leadership, research.

A person one faculty member called “the single most remarkable undergraduate student I have ever worked with at Chapman” received the university’s oldest and highest undergraduate student honor at the Campus Leadership Awards May 6.

Sydni Au Hoy ’22, who hails from Honolulu, was given the Cecil F. Cheverton Award at an in-person ceremony at Fish Interfaith Center. Au Hoy, a biological sciences major, finished her undergraduate studies last fall.

“Being a recipient of the Cheverton Award is an honor, and a reflection of the many learning experiences I have encountered these past four years, the exceptional mentorship provided by Chapman faculty, and the invaluable support present around every corner of this institution,” Au Hoy says.

Au Hoy, who has been working as an orthopedic medical scribe at Cedars-Sinai Kerlan-Jobe Institute, received the 2021 Kevin and Tam Ross Undergraduate Research Prize for her research on “Psychogenic Non-epileptic Seizures Disorder: Treatment after the Diagnostic Odyssey.” She co-authored an article on seizures that was published in Epilepsy and Behavior Reports journal, and did research on the response of higher education to COVID-19 and plant microbiology.

“My time here was filled with memorable research projects and leadership opportunities, but most of all, I am thankful for the wonderful individuals I have met along the way who truly contributed to the quality of my undergraduate experience,” she says.

Au Hoy was co-president of the Be Kynd to Your Heart Foundation, which spreads awareness of cardiac arrests. She served as student representative on Schmid College of Science and Technology’s diversity, equity and inclusion task force and a committee leader on the Schmid Student Leadership Council.

She was one of four finalists for the Cheverton Award. Students are invited to apply based on academics, and the winner is chosen by a vote of the full faculty. Each winner’s name is permanently inscribed on the trophy, and they get a desk-size copy.

“As I transition into a post-baccalaureate clinical fellowship with Stanford Medicine, I hope to continue learning and meeting inspiring individuals while I pursue a career in healthcare,” Au Hoy says.

In addition to the Cheverton, these awards were given out or acknowledged:

Gloria and Julian Peterson Outstanding Leadership Award

Philip Goodrich ’22

Ronald M. Huntington Outstanding Scholarship Award

Natanael Alpay ’22

Paul S. Delp Outstanding Service Award

Marisa Quezada ’22

Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award

Ramya Sinha ’22

Jerry Price Campus Leadership Award

Danyelle Burke North ’23

Barry Goldwater Scholarship

Benjamin Janda ’23

Kevin Nguyen ’24

Dougherty Scholarship

Rachel Berns ’24

Aiko Lozar ’24


Watch the ceremony at Campus Leadership Awards | Students | Chapman University

Joy Juedes

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.