Chapman University sign

Awards, fun and workshops highlight annual Staff Summit week

Chapman University honored its staff for outstanding service and contributions during its 2017 Staff Appreciation Awards Ceremony held Friday, June 30, in Musco Center for the Arts.

“I want you to know how important what you do is to the University and how grateful we are for the incredible work you put in day in and day out for the University,” President Daniele Struppa said. “As I go around the community talking about Chapman, people remark on how well we are doing. We are really an incredible inspiration to the entire Orange County community. And I always make sure to mention that this would really not be possible without the quality personnel that we have, both the staff and the faculty. The support you give us is what makes everything possible here.”

Chapman staff member Adey Oyenuga, left, is presented with the President’s Award by President Daniele Struppa at the annual Staff Appreciation Awards Ceremony.

The President’s Award, the University’s highest staff honor in recognition of exemplary service, was presented to Adey Oyenuga, a procurement officer in the Purchasing Department.  Oyenuga is a 25-year employee at Chapman described in the award nomination letter written by his colleagues as a consummate team player.

“He is a true servant leader who sets the tone for the department and allows the whole team to excel,” his colleagues wrote.

The event capped off the weeklong Staff Summit, an annual week Chapman dedicates to staff, providing workshops, wellness activities and a mid-week brunch to honor its employees.

Other top awards presented at the ceremony included: Provost Award, Rita Desjardins, executive assistant to the dean of the Argyros School of Business and Economics; the Four Pillars Award, Mackenzie Crigger, sustainability manager in Facilities Management; and the University Advancement Awards, John Cowles, manager of University Advancement systems in University Advancement, and Char Williams, director, Institutional Events Management and Operations in Strategic Marketing and Communications.

Receiving Service Awards were:

Forty-Five Years Twenty Years Jaliz Fabio Cristian Bourgeois
Kathie Borunda David Backus Mike Ferguson Adam Brown
Cass Harris David Finley Martha Castrejon
Forty Years Janeen Hill Brett Fisher Danielle Cobb
Carolyn Dunlavy Joann King Lora Ford Dirk Cross
Tod Withey Shannon Halverson Brittany Deneau
Thirty-Five Years Michael Harada Kristi Deschenes
Vincent Farmer Fifteen Years Jen Hunnewell Rita Desjardins
Leslie Heinrichs Marisol Arredondo Michael Kelley Cyndi Dumas
Kristin Beavers Maylinda Kepilino Kristen Entringer
Thirty Years Ed Blatchford Josh Lander Ava Faletoi
Ed Fox Chelsea Dempsey Justin Lutsky Reggie Gilyard
Mike Pelly Mary Ellen Duggan-Hawken James McCulloch Cathy Greenberg
Michael Robin Margie McCoy Janice Moody Marcus Herse
Luis Serrato Jim McInerney Wally Moore Richard Jenkins
Gail Stankan Kris Olsen Gail Nishida Ciara Jones
Eric Ploessel Eric Rodriguez Heidi Lasky
Twenty-Five Years Sally Ramirez Armen Sarkisian Hilary Leath
Lisa Arranga Danny Reilly Jim Smith Ross Loehner
Mike Bokosky Ming Wright Timothy Straus Joan Mountain
John Cahill Andrew Tessandori Alex Musser
Susan Jester Ten Years Colleen Wood Essraa Nawar
Janet Lloyd Rudy Arciniega Eva Yen Irene Quinlan
Adey Oyenuga Dennis Arp Ashley Raciak
William Parks Ashley Bloomfield Five Years Tracy Rastello
Pia Brancolino Khalil Abdul-Hakeem Lugene Rosen
Allan Brooks Karen Akiyama Becky Schlafer
Diane Eisenberg Andy Anderson Heather Schlossnagle
Stephany Elliott Dina Bartoloni Casey Shine
Phil Oliva Barry Taylor




Add comment