group smiling and woman holding trophy

Emily Frisch ’16 named Cheverton winner

Biological sciences major and Spanish minor Emily Frisch ’16 has been named Chapman University’s 2016 Cheverton Award winner. The announcement was made Friday, May 6, at the annual Campus Leadership Awards.

Frisch has participated in several research and health education projects, including three years in the molecular biology lab of Marco Bisoffi, Ph.D., assisting in his research into the molecular insights into prostate field cancerization. She also lived amongst the Shipibo community for one month to help translate the novel Koshi Shinanya Ainbo: The Testimony of a Shipibo Woman with a Chapman research team led by Pilar Valenzuela, Ph.D.

More recently, Frisch, the daughter of Professor Frank Frisch, is part of the leadership team that helped expand the Health Navigator program to the Senior Health Center of the UCI Medical Center, which serves all of Orange County.

One of the oldest awards presented by Chapman, the Cheverton Award was established in 1929. The original bronze cup awarded to recipients was a gift of the Class of 1929 and remains on exhibit in Argyros Forum on campus, along with its successor, a silver bowl. Upon the trophies are engraved the names of all Cheverton awardees since 1929.

Pictured in display image at top are Chancellor Daniele Struppa, Emily Frisch ’16 and Vice Chancellor for Student Affairs and Dean of Students Jerry Price.

Also receiving leadership awards were:

Paul S. Delp Award for Outstanding Service

Kelley Moody

Outstanding Diversity Leadership Award

Em Griffith

Ronald M. Huntington Award for Outstanding Scholarship

Aaron Goodman, Nico Aguilar

Gloria and Julian Peterson Award

Annaliese Baker

Outstanding Seniors

Cassidy Jensen, Sohini Mukherjee, Gagan Sandhu, Annie Chapin, Lauren Deats, Negeen Lotfi, Tansu Philip, Jessie Dart, Nathaniel Bischoff, Stephen Neil, Connor Williams, Lijah Vann Gardner, Christine Saito, Alex Allen, Alina Ambrosino.

Outstanding Juniors

Victoria Edgar, Sonia Djafri, Rose Mackenzie, Monica Furman, Matt Brown, Justice Crudup, Brigitte Atchekzai, Alex Himstead, Catherine Markey, Nicole Myers.

Outstanding Sophomores

Alyssa Nowlen, Ben Bond, Jesse Rush, Ryan King, Kara Ojebuoboh, Kevin Leake, Shana Kheradyar, Set Motamedi, Imani Woodley, Sara Walton

Outstanding First Year Students

Cam Haslam, Celeste Carbonell, Erica Green, Helen Garcia, Jennifer Cabrera, Julie Remen, Mitchell Rosenberg, Natalie Lund, Michelle Voronel, Jake Ummel

Outstanding Academic or Honor Society Student Organization 

Alpha Kappa Psi

Outstanding Civic Engagement Student Organization

Circle K

Outstanding Diversity/Cultural Student Organization

Active Minds

Outstanding Leisure or Recreation Student Organization

The Players’ Society

Outstanding Religious/Spiritual Student Organization

Health and Healing Club

Dawn Bonker

1 comment