Two awarded Cheverton Awards for outstanding academics, service


The 2014 Cheverton Award was presented to two students this year, Elliot Cooley ’14 and Adam Kalawi ’14. From left are President Jim Doti, Cooley, Kalawi and Chancellor Daniele Struppa.
The 2014 Cheverton Award was presented to two students this year, Elliot Cooley ’14 and Adam Kalawi ’14. From left are President Jim Doti, Cooley, Kalawi, Chancellor Daniele Struppa and Vice Chancellor Jerry Price.

Elliot Cooley ’14 and Adam Kalawi ’14 are this year’s recipients of the Cheverton Trophy, Chapman University’s highest student achievement award presented to graduating seniors. The awards were announced during the 2014 Campus Leadership Awards held Friday afternoon in the Sandhu Conference Center.

Cooley is a Presidential Scholar and double major in mathematics and computational science. He was the lead developer for Autism Management Platform Project – an Android application and website developed to assist parents and educators of autistic students – and is a software design engineer in test for Microsoft Inc.

Kalawi is an Albert Schweitzer Scholarship recipient and a double major in biochemistry and molecular biology and Honors Program. He was a medical intelligence and innovations intern for Children’s Hospital of Orange County and the Robotics and Robotic Surgery Abstract Competition Winner for the Pediatrics 2040 Conference.

One of the oldest awards presented by Chapman, the Cheverton Award was established in 1929. The original bronze cup awarded to recipients was a gift of the Class of 1929 and remains on exhibit in Argyros Forum on campus, along with its successor, a silver bowl. Upon the trophies are engraved the names of all Cheverton awardees since 1929.

In addition to academic accomplishments, awardees must demonstrate a “high moral character” and “represent the spirit of Chapman University.” The award is named for Cecil F. Cheverton, Chapman’s sixth president, who served from 1929 to 1941.

Also receiving awards were:

Peterson Award

Camellia Khalvati ’14

Huntington Award for Outstanding Scholarship

Kathleen Doll ’14

Adriana Ariza ’14

Rebeca Herrera ’14

Diversity Leadership Award

Selva Miranda ’14

Paul S. Delp Outstanding Service Award

Lord Ryan Lizardo ’14

Outstanding Seniors

Daniel Fister

Mark Saatzer

Danielle Luchetta

Anthony Ewell – Kollman

Erin Wainwright

Vanessa Gorski

Andrew Schreyer

Bronwyn Holder

Ema Solarova

Randen Morisako

Jared Celniker

Daniel Brennan

Haley Wragg

Allison Hatch

Justin LaLonde

Outstanding Juniors

Nicole Goehring

Lana Barendse

Henry Nelson Tracey

Jennifer Bowen

Wendy Acquazino

Samantha Cressey

Spencer Berry

Devon Hillard

Samantha Summers

Kristen Pedley

Outstanding Sophomores

Annaliese Baker

Carmina Portea

Eric Sirvinskas

Yecenia Vargas

Brady Slater

Kelley Moody

Nathaniel Bischoff

Erica Snider

Taylor Krause

Vaughn Ryan

Outstanding First Years

Elise Levesque

Leon Lukic

Tristan Tran

Tzuni Lopez

Miranda Nuevo

Allyson Hoch

Taylor Panconi

Lotus Thai

Victoria Edgar

Ryan Rodriguez




Dawn Bonker

Add comment

Your Header Sidebar area is currently empty. Hurry up and add some widgets.