Professors Redding, Keller receive Wang-Fradkin honors at Faculty Convocation

Chapman University’s elite Wang-Fradkin Professorships were awarded to professors from the School of Law and the Schmid College of Science at the 18th Annual Chapman University Faculty Honors Convocation, held Friday in the George H.W. Bush Conference Center.

Receiving the senior Wang-Fradkin Professorship was Richard Redding, Ph.D., professor at Chapman Law and vice chancellor for graduate education. Redding specializes in forensic issues in criminal law, juvenile justice, use of social science research in law and public policy, the role of sociopolitical attitudes in diversity and interpersonal and professional functioning and the ways in which social and political attitudes influence how science is used in policy making.

The junior Wang-Fradkin Professorship went to Jason Keller, Ph.D., assistant professor in the Schmid College of Science and Technology. Keller is an ecologist interested in the flow of carbon and nutrients through ecosystems.  Much of his work explores ecosystems’ response to ongoing global change.  His current research focuses on the controls of anaerobic decomposition and greenhouse gas dynamics in a variety of wetlands, ranging from northern peatlands to tidal marshes.

The Wang-Fradkin professorships are two-year monetary awards to further teaching and scholarship. They were founded in memory of Hua-Cheng Wang, professor of political science, diplomat and expert on international law; and Cheng-Mei Fradkin, distinguished teacher, scholar and administrator.

Other awards presented Friday included:

Valerie Scudder Awards:

Brian Alters, professor, College of Educational Studies; James Blaylock, associate professor, Wikinson College of Humanities and Social Sciences; Warren de Bruyn, associate professor, Schmid College of Science and Technology; and William Kroyer, professor, Dodge College of Film and Media Arts.

Outstanding Teaching Professor:

Kent Lehnhof, associate professor of English and comparative literature.

Pedagogical Innovation:

Abel Winn, assistant professor, Argyros School of Business and Economics.

Curriculum Innovation in Sustainability Faculty Teaching:  

Christopher Kim, associate professor, Schmid College of Science and Technology, and David Shafie, professor, Wilkinson College, for their course, ENV 498: Environmental Problem Solving: Senior Capstone Research and Seminar.

Excellence in Service:

Gordon Babst, associate professor, Wilkinson College; Michael Hass, professor, College of Educational Studies.

Excellence in Scholarly/Creative Activity:

Emily Carman, assistant professor, Dodge College of Film and Media Arts; John Eastman, professor, School of Law; and Pilar Valenzuela, associate professor, Wilkinson College.

Excellence in Teaching:

Julye Bidmead, assistant professor, Wilkinson College; Fred Caporaso, Schmid College of Science and Technology; and Elaine Schwartz, assistant professor, Schmid College of Science and Technology.

Promotion to rank of full professor was announced for:

Professors Warren de Bruyn, Dawn Hunter and Peter Jipsen.

Tenure was announced for:

Professors Stephen Coker, Johnny Jensen and Gennady Verkhivker.

Tenure and promotion was announced for:

Professors Alexander Bay, John Benitz, Barbara Doyle, Jeffrey Holmes, Kate Karniouchina, Roman Sheremeta and Daniel Wachs.

Dawn Bonker

1 comment